Events Calendar | Rockford Register Star

Rockford Certified Slam

Fri, Apr 14, 2017 6:00 pm

Additional Times

  • Fri, Dec 9, 2016 6:00 pm
  • Fri, Jan 13, 2017 6:00 pm
  • Fri, Feb 10, 2017 6:00 pm
  • Fri, Mar 10, 2017 6:00 pm
  • More Times
  • Fri, May 12, 2017 6:00 pm
  • Fri, Jun 9, 2017 6:00 pm
  • Fri, Jul 14, 2017 6:00 pm
  • Fri, Aug 11, 2017 6:00 pm
  • Fri, Sep 8, 2017 6:00 pm

Contact Information

Email: bookwormbakery@gmail.com

Website: http://bookwormbakery.com/

Phone: (815) 966-2797

Every second Friday of the month, the Bookworm Bakery and Cafe hosts the Rockford Certified Slam; the only event of its kind on Rockford. We always have a feature poet, some of them nationally known.

Come show what you have then see what you can learn by this amazing local poet!
Our Slam Competition follows national guidelines .
1. All pieces must be original.
2. You have 3 minutes to preform your piece. you will receive a 10 second grace period after which you will be docked for going over.
3. No props, music, or visual aids.
4. all pieces must be memorized or you will be docked.

Get here early to sign up for the slam. The first 12 poets get to preform. 13th will get to be the sacrificial poet. If you have any questions you can post the here or call Bookworm at 815-966-2797. Bring your friends but more importantly bring some strangers!


6685 E. State St
Rockford, IL 61108

Rockford Certified Slam image
Rockford Certified Slam image
Rockford Certified Slam image
Rockford Certified Slam image
Rockford Certified Slam image
Rockford Certified Slam image
Click